Tangent Reviews: Crossed Genres #32

This week I reviewed issue 32 of Crossed Genres for the month of August on Tangent Online Magazine. This issue features three stories on themes such as the emotional evocation of food, the blind strength of parental love, and our deep connections with deceased loved ones. “Where Do You Go to, My Lovely?” by Yusra Amjad, “Infinite Skeins” by Naru Dames Sundar, and “The Copperlin U.S. Post Office Manual” by Lauren Rudin can be read in the August 2015 issue of Crossed Genres. My review can be found at Tangent Online.

2 thoughts on “Tangent Reviews: Crossed Genres #32

  1. Loved the reviews, NJ, and I’m hugely interested in the first two stories – as any writing to do with food is like a magnet for my eyes, and the concept of alternative dimensions is a subject I’m always curious about as well. So many storytelling possibilities there.
    The last book sounds like it has wonderful potential, and I’m sorry it fell flat. I’d love to see someone like Neil Gaiman take a crack at it.
    Overall, two out of three ain’t bad, right?
    Cheers!

    • I did really like the first one, and the second one I would have liked more if the voice and style had been different. The third one rubbed me the wrong way, though. All the stories I’ve reviewed recently are in first person, and I really don’t like first person. I don’t think it’s done to its full potential in a lot of cases.

Leave a Reply

