P is for Pirate

Perhaps only vampires are more romanticized in literature than pirates, but it must be a rather close race. For those who crave the dangerous bad boy types in their books (and in their hearts) heaven forbid if anyone ever writes about a vampire pirate. We may never put those books down again. It’s probably already been done, come to think of it. Probably for the best. My vampire loving days are well behind me and it’s probably best that they stay there.

I don’t hold out much hope that The Robberies & Murders of the Most Notorious Pirates will be that much of a romantic tale. For one thing, even though the work is attributed to self proclaimed pirate Captain Charles Johnson, there’s no record of such a person ever existing, and by and large the literary world tends to attribute this book to Daniel Defoe. That being the case, this is probably less a tale of swashbuckling lust on the high seas and more an account of the day to day, scurvy riddled life of sailors who happen to make most of their income from making off with whatever is on board the nearest underprotected ship. After reading Robinson Crusoe I don’t hold much hope for any of Defoe’s writing to be anything other than a sleep aid.

Robberies and murders

 

18 thoughts on “P is for Pirate

  1. I think pirates of the modern day have a far more lucrative lifestyle than those hailing from the days of yore. Albeit that modern day retribution, when it happens, appears to be somewhat quicker and more painful than just being forced to walk the gangplank.

    • Pirates of the modern day mostly have everything they need, anyway. The only life necessity they’re missing is the latest episodes of Game of Thrones. 😛

  2. Just want to reassure you that I have been reading your posts diligently and admiring your letters, in particular. Just wasn’t blog-hopping but reading my email! But I agree with you about Defoe 🙂

    • Thank you! 😀 I’m glad you’re enjoying them. I’m actually having fun rediscovering all the books on my non-fiction shelf that I bought and forgot about. So much to read, with more on the way.

      Oh, Defoe! I was so excited to read Robinson Crusoe, and you disappointed me, man. I could over-look the colonial racism because of the time it was written but good God, man, you invented the shipwrecked-on-a-deseted-island genre and somehow made survival in the wilderness, cannibals and pirates boring.

      Truly, if I want to read a wilderness survival story that’s NOT going to make me fall asleep, I’ll just read some Jean Craighead George.

    • I’ll let you know what I start reading it. Who knows, maybe Defoe wrote it under an assumed name so that eh could write a book vastly outside of his usual boring style. I can hope.

Leave a Reply

