April A-Z Theme Reveal

atoz-theme-reveal-2015

All right, I’m doing this again. In fact, I’m doing this twice–blogging god have mercy on my fingers. I don’t know why. Apparently I didn’t learn my lesson last year. Or else I forgot all the stress, the wrist cramps and the memories of all the fantastic people I met.

Wait a second, that’s why I’m doing this again this year–all those people who came around and commented on my blog, and who had fantastic blogs themselves to read, that’s why I’m doing this again, ’cause one can never have too many friends to help dig a corpse pit.

Or something.

Anyway, the reveal, yes. You may not know it from the title of my blog, but I’m a writer. I write for fun, I write for pennies and I write because if I die before I get all these lives out of my head, I’m pretty sure that’ll count as negligent homicide, and I can’t have that on my ghostly conscience. As a writer it’s necessary that I read a great deal. Last year my theme was all the wonderful fiction on my shelves. As I was writing those posts, I kept glancing over at my non-fiction bookcase, and how lonely and forlorn it must feel to not have even a little bit of spotlight in the blog hop. Well dry those tears, non-fiction books, ’cause this year’s all about you!

I generally read more non-fiction in a year than any other genre. It’s a necessary part of the writer game, as much as reading fiction, or sitting over a computer squinting at a single sentence for hours is. If I’m supposed to write what I know, then I better cram my head so full of knowable stuff that numbers come tumbling out of my ears in an endless Fibonacci sequence. What I read is all over the place from the obligatory craft books to history, to sociology, politics, religion and curious specialty books–even encyclopedias. I hope over the month of April to introduce you to some of the subjects that I find fascinating, both in the context of helping me become a better writer and to feed my insatiable curiosity. From antiques to zlatoroy, stop by next month for a peek at what’s on my non-fiction shelf. I hope you come away from it just a little bit stranger.

43 thoughts on “April A-Z Theme Reveal

  1. Excellent – I should learn a lot from this! I’m still toying with following the challenge on two blogs, but so far have only signed up for one. It’ll be a last minute decision…..

    • I always find myself making a promise to read more fiction, but when I do my end of the year tally, non-fiction always wins out. Probably because about a quarter of my reading is non-fiction, and I split the fiction up by genre, so the biggest “genre” is non-fiction. 🙂

  2. Wow, you got a lot to do this spring – impressive! You are on J and worried. I am on G so I guess I have to turn up the pace to make it. Oh my, I get exhausted just thinking about it. I think I join you in the corner…
    I like your theme non-fiction books (not that I don´t like fiction) it is very inspiring. I love to read but often get stuck when it comes to find a new book. I can stand in the library staring on the covers for hours and then leave empty handed. I look forward to get some book tips from you during the April challenge.

  3. this reveal post not only reveals your intriguing theme, but it reveals some of your fun and quirky personality – love it! looking forward to learning and being inspired here! happy a to z-ing!

  4. Pingback: A-Z Theme Reveal Roundup! | Alex Hurst

  5. Hi there! I am doing the A to Z challenge too. I look forward to reading about your list of nonfiction books. I decided to focus on films which have been very inspirational to me. I also wanted to drop by and let you know that I nominated you for the Liebster Award. I love reading your blog and wish success to you in all your projects. Please click here for more information: https://thecandidspot.wordpress.com/2015/03/23/the-candid-spot-accepts-the-liebster-award/

  6. “…Wait a second, that’s why I’m doing this again this year–all those people who came around and commented on my blog, and who had fantastic blogs themselves to read, that’s why I’m doing this again, ’cause one can never have too many friends to help dig a corpse pit….”

    This is fantastic!! I’m so happy I came across your blog (found it on the A-Z sign up list), I’m absolutely loving your writing style! I look forward to following your blog next month through the challenge that I am endeavoring to partake in (again…), and look forward to reading more!! 🙂

  7. I look forward to hearing about all the interesting things you read. As a fellow A to Zer this year it should be fun. Also, as a fellow writer, I love that you call craft books “obligatory.” 😎

    • Cool! I really hope this topic is as interesting on the page as it is in my head. Honestly, I’m so busy right now that I’m writing most of these while half asleep. We’ll see if they actually turn into anything coherent.

  8. Hi there ! Your theme sounds interesting! Shall be looking it up.
    This is my very first April A-Z Challenge and though I haven’t announced my theme, have thought about it! Letting it mesh and mess about somewhere in the hinterland of my mind. Probably post it by tomorrow!
    I am amazed to see you all prep. posts so much in advance ! Still a long way to go for me !
    Thanks for dropping by my half-asleep site!

    • Last year I didn’t start planning until the reveal day. t was a mad scramble to get anything done. I’m glad I gave myself some time to plan this year, especially considering everything else I have to do in April. Good luck! 🙂

  9. I’m not sure whether you found me from the sign-up list at the A to Z Challenge blog (in which case, whoa and good job landing on one with an actual human running it!) or some other way, but I’m glad you did, because otherwise I might not have found you. I clicked on your icon out of sheer curiosity, but have been cackling my way through your posts since and have hence decided that you are a splendid person. (I don’t need any more information than that. I just KNOW.) I’m excited to learn about all sorts of amazing and zany things (see what I did there?) from you in the next month, and hope you’ll also drop by to read my (considerably less zany) posts for the challenge. 🙂

    • Hi! I’m glad you’ve liked what you saw. My only regret is that my time has been too short to be more active around here. March and April are very busy months. I absolutely found you through the challenge. Hahaha! I look forward to reading your posts too!

  10. Oh my goodness, I can tell from experienced bloggers such as yourself that many plan way in advance. I better begin writing a lot tomorrow. This A – Z may be more challenging than I thought. Good luck with all your activities in April and I can’t wait to hear more about non-fiction; my absolute fav. Happy blogging and reading, Cheryl

Leave a Reply

