N is for…

NN is for not well read:

Newman, Kim
Nielsen, Jennifer A.
Novik, Naomi

 

I mean, compared to how well read I want to be. It seems that more often than not in this challenge I’ve been talking about the books I haven’t read. When faced with the reality that no one will ever be able to read all the books in the world, it’s a wonder that anyone can ever call themselves ‘well read’. In any case, here are two more authors I haven’t read, and one more that I have.

Anno Dracula by Kim Newman has only been on my TBR list for a very short time. I bought it when I went home last year. It was a wonder I could find it at all, the state of the horror section at my local book store was a terrible mess. It almost made me want to fix it myself, but the store was too crowded with holiday shoppers and I would have looked like a crazy lady. Or else I would have had people mistake me for an actual employee.

I gave Jennifer A. Nielsen‘s The False Prince to Alex for Christmas last year. Apparently she read it while I was away and really enjoyed it, so I’ll have to read it too. I mean, I’ll have to read it by virtue of it sitting there on my book shelf, but getting an endorsement from Alex is sure to bump a book pretty high on the list.

Naomi Novik I have read, many years ago. The first book in the series, His Majesty’s Dragon was a great read, even though it went places I really hadn’t expected. It was in the second and third books that I started to lose interest. The series takes place during the Napoleonic wars and asks the question on every historian’s mind of any era: how could history be improved with dragons?

 

 

IMG_1348

I’m kind of on a roller coaster of fat and skimpy letters here. Do you know any other great N authors? Read any of these books and are burning to tell me about them? Let me know in the comments!

27 thoughts on “N is for…

  1. I searched my Goodreads book list…couldn’t find but on “N” author, and he’s a local self published guy, but does do a lot of writing/publishing. I guess my “N” suggestion would be “None.” Sorry…

      • Good for you! I’m pushing to have all my posts done by Friday. Getting so close. My “working writing” is waiting for me and I know I’m leaving other’s blogs behind in visitations…

      • I have a fourth draft to do the revisions for this Sunday, plus an off challenge blog post that has been sitting on my to do list for a while. Also have to finish reading To Kill a Mockingbird this week and get the house cleaned for guests next week.

        I admit, I’m loving it. I’d rather be busy than bored, but the three day run of headaches is reminding me that sleep also needs to happen. Occasionally.

    • I hear you. Sometimes I catch myself reading for speed and not taking in enough of the book. I have to force myself to slow down and smell the literary roses.

  2. I am at a loss for “N” authors! I am loving your A to Z challenge… I used to be an avid reader but for whatever reason the last year I have dropped off. Your blog has inspired me to start reading again. I too am behind in sleep but that’s because I’ve been staying up late reading! Feels good 🙂

  3. Thanks! I’m glad my blog is being useful! I’ve been in that drop off point. For a point of about five years after high school I stopped reading. I consider this the “figure out your life” stage, so I try not to be so hard on myself. I started reading again in university, when I took a literature course and was reminded how much I love books. I’ve been trying to jump back into it from there and only really succeeded last year when I set a book goal for myself.

    Happy reading!

  4. Neil Gaiman!!! 🙂 My favourite writer….Have you read him?

    Anno Dracula sounds really interesting, I’ve added it to my good reads “want to read” list. It’s tough to get around to all those books to read, isn’t it. So many books so little time. With A to Z this month and Camp NaNo I’m hardly getting any reading in which is no good. My post easter resolution is to Make More Time For Reading (damn, that could have been an M post).

  5. My lone N is Andre Norton’s Wheel of Stars. Sad to say, I haven’t read it yet. I did read a couple of her books a looooong time ago, but I can’t remember what they were, which is really going to bug me. I hate it when I can’t remember something.

  6. I’ve read Elvenbane, and didn’t enjoy it. Could be because it was co-authored by Mercedes Lackey though. I don’t often commit book abuse, but that one I threw against a wall.

Leave a Reply

