L is for…

LL is for lies, lovers and limitless angst:

Lackey, Mercedes
Lawrence, D. H.
Le Guin, Ursula
Lynch, Scott

The unfortunate thing about this post is that the only author of these four that I’ve read happens to be the author that I like the least of all. I’ve read a few of Mercedes Lackey‘s books, and have failed to be impressed by any degree. Magic’s Pawn is so tragically awful that I keep it in my collection as a reminder to never buy an entire series before reading the first book.

Lady Chatterley’s Lover is actually Alex’s book. I’ve not read it, but I’ve seen recommendations for it all over the place, so it’s on my 2014 reading list. D. H. Lawrence, like many authors and artists, didn’t reach the height of fame until after his death. He did however, have a fairly commonplace life in comparison to some of the other authors I’ve researched for this challenge.

I really, really want to read Ursula Le Guin. So many people praise her writing and cite her works that I’m itching to pull her off my TBR list. Patience, me, patience. There are books that have waited far longer than hers.

See above for my thoughts on Scott Lynch and The Lies of Locke Lamora. I finally got this one for Christmas last year and I eye it every time I pass my bookshelves. *whine*

 

IMG_1335

How terrible am I for having not read these books? Have any others I should squeeze into my TBR list?. Let me know in the comments.

16 thoughts on “L is for…

  1. I think any good writer should also be a voracious reader, so it’s natural to have a long list or pile of books ready to be read when there’s time. But think of all the books printed every year! You could never read even a tenth of them, so join my group where books abound and promises to read them are as numerous as angels on the head of a pin! That pile of books promises a an enjoyable and rich future.

    • I just write a similar such thing for another A-Z post. It’s very true. I’ll never be able to read all the books that I want to read. I finish one, and there are ten more waiting in line. But, I’ll always have something to read. 🙂

  2. Try the late, great Doris Lessing’s Memoirs of a Survivor (1974). Of your list above, I’ve only read Lady Chatterley and The Wizard of Earthsea (but not the rest of the trilogy. Cheers, J

  3. I read a bit of D.H. Lawrence in school. He was very controversial in his time for the way he portrayed female sexuality. It’s worth reading him for his place in history as well as the stories themselves. I remember enjoying ‘Sons and Lovers’ and “Women In Love’ even though I was reading them for a class.
    Ursula LeGuin has been on my TBR list for ages, too. I hear good things about her books. Thanks for reminding me of her.

    • Lawrence had issues/curiosities about sexuality all around. His wife thought he was having a homosexual affair with a farmer at one point.

      Same with me for Le Guin. I can’t wait to read her.

    • I think for me it’s just worse when a much lauded book is a disappointment. If the book is obscure, or underground or in a niche genre, then it’s not so upsetting, but when it’s a high profile name with huge numbers of fans and the book is just… not very good, it’s very disappointing for sure.

  4. Wish I had some “L” authors to recommend. I’ve kept a few books that “failed to impress” as well, serving as reminders that anything is possible. Not all will like what we write, not all will achieve fame, but completing the task of book/novel is still an accomplishment to be congratulated.

  5. Too many books, too little time and as I get older, I become more ADD so have even less time. I belong to a bookclub so it forces me to explore new reads outside my favorite genre. I also find that I give up on books more easily with the Kindle. I wonder if others have this similar problem? Dropped by for the A-Z challenge. I love discovering new blogs. Good luck with the challenge and Happy Writing!

    • I’ve thought about joining book clubs, but I prefer to read books at my own pace, and having to keep up with others would take the pleasure of the read from me. I’ve started just taking recommendations from everywhere, though. It’s made my TBR list enormous, but at least I’m reading new things.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. I want to read Ursula LeGuin’s The Lathe of Heaven. I saw the PBS movie many moons ago and loved it. Plus she lives not too far from me and attended Portland, OR’s Wordstock book conference as a speaker. I missed her session and I’m still bitterly regretful about that.

  7. I’ve read Earthsea, which is great, but I like the second book in the series even better – The Tombs of Atuan. I have a huge backlog of books to read through as well. Oh, to be independently wealthy so I could spend all of my time reading books. 😉

Leave a Reply

