J is for…

J is for Jjust a little bit:

Jordan, Robert
Judson, Theodore

 

Pretty light again, huh? And another series that I only have bits and pieces of. Actually, I read the first five of Robert Jordan‘s The Wheel of Time series in high school. I borrowed them from friends at that time, and only started collecting the books myself when I saw them for sale at the local library. I didn’t have any money at that time you’ll recall, so I couldn’t buy them new and for some reason people in my life didn’t like giving me gift cards to book stores for Christmas and birthdays, despite that being the only thing I ever asked for. Strange. Anyway, I liked the series well enough though I read it after I read Terry Goodkind‘s Sword of Truth and the similarities were too numerous to enjoy it as much as I could have. It didn’t help that the characters I liked died, or disappeared, or went insane (this is how I remember it at least. It was over a decade ago and people have corrected my memory whenever I talk about this series). I still recommend it, and I’ll probably pick it up again once I start filling the gaps in my collection.

Theodore Judson‘s Fitzpatrick’s War is a book that was recommended to me so often by my circle of friends that I finally bought it. I still haven’t read it though. It’s just never appeared that high up in my queue.

 

IMG_1297

It’s a light day today folks. The rest of the letters are laughing at J. Have any recommendations to beef up the ranks? Like any of the books written by the above authors? Let me know in the comments.

10 thoughts on “J is for…

  1. I have Robert Jordan’s Eye of the World and The Great Hunt. I’ve read the first but not the second. Being a romantic, I like to have the characters who love each other be a couple by the end of the book, and when this didn’t happen in Eye, it bugged me so I put off reading the sequel. Probably silly of me, but there it is. I also have two books by Diana Wynne Jones in her Dalemark Quartet series that I haven’t read. They’re some of the many books I bought years ago and never got around to reading. I really need to get going on that. I have read most of the Brian Jacques Redwall books I have. They’re good if you don’t mind animals as main characters.

    • I really wish I could remember more about this series, but what I do remember is that I was following it only for one character, then something happened and I no longer liked that character, so i stopped reading.
      I have Redwall on my wishlist still from way back. I have over 300 books on that list, and I have no idea when I’m going to get to buying them all.

  2. With every post of yours I read, my TBR list grows. The only J author I can think of is James Joyce, and I have his Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man on my TBR list. 🙂

    • I’m thinking I should pick up some Joyce. It’s possible he’s already on my Kindle. He’s another author I’ve heard a lot about but have never read. I’m seriously behind on my classics!

Leave a Reply

