I is for…

I is for incomplete:I

Iggulden, Conn

 

 

One of the nice things about living in Kyoto is that small and used bookstores are still in big demand here. This could be because Kyoto is a cultural city that prides itself on its integration of old and new, and used bookstores sit very nicely in the mean. What’s even nicer is that there are a few English only used bookstores, where foreigners can dump their collections before returning home, to lighten their loads. It was at one of these stores that I picked up Conn Iggulden‘s The Death of Kings and The Field of Swords as part of my bid to read more authors I’d never heard of before. Unfortunately, in my rush to grasp hold of more books, I failed to notice that The Death of Kings is the second book in the series, and The Field of Swords is the third. Oops. It’s on my TBR list, but the first book is still on my Amazon wishlist.

IMG_1048

OK, obviously I need some help with this one, guys. Have any good ‘I’ authors you can recommend me? Let me know in the comments.

26 thoughts on “I is for…

  1. I’ve got one for you–and she happens to be my FAVORITE author of all time… Ilona Andrews. She writes fantasy and paranormal romance. Her Magic series takes place in post-apocalyptic Atlanta. Her lead character, Kate Daniels, is hilarious and a great lead to follow as she slays vamps and rides a donkey through the magic-fueled streets of Atlanta. Anyway, good to meet you, and I’m glad I could help out…TamaraDaresToWrite.blogspot.com.

  2. How about Kazuo Ishiguro, author of The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go, among other novels?
    Or Ibsen, Henrik Ibsen (A Doll’s House)?
    Cheers, J

  3. I love used book stores. I spend a shameful amount of money in them. There used to be one foreign language used book store in Budapest, I raided it regularly… 😀

    • When I was young I used to walk down to the charity thrift store for used novels all the time. There was a very kind old woman there who used to sell them to me for 25 cents. But then she was replaced by a mean old woman who glared at me every time I came in as though it was usual for teenagers to steal lace doilies and ceramic shepherds. She made me pay a dollar for each book and quickly exhausted all the money I earned. Eventually I stopped going there.

      • I’m reading one of four books I got from a charity shop for months and months now – John Updike’s Terrorist. It’s a great read so far but my phone upgrade has brought eBooks and Kindle into my world in a way that I hadn’t appreciated and I keep getting sidetracked! Tarkabarka, I have read more than once about the used bookstore in Hungary. If it’s the same one, it was quite a famed literary haunt, I believe.

  4. Ibsen was a playwright, NJ. So bear that in mind when you’re looking for his work. A Doll’s House caused quite the feminist storm back in the day. Ibsen’s Ghosts is another great play. They come from a tradition of “well-made plays” (that may be a phrase that was imposed after the fact, of course). But they can teach us a thing or two about structure and plotting and scene-setting and all that stuff! Check them out and the best to you in the A-Z.

    • Thanks! I’ve no problem reading plays, but thanks for letting me know. I’ve added it to my wishlist, so I’ll sample it… well… the when is always the thing. :/

Leave a Reply

