F is for…

FF is for fat, fantasy, and filling space:

Feist, Raymond E.
Fielding, Helen
Flewelling, Lynn
Forester, C. S.

The only book out of these four that I’ve read is Bridget Jones’s Diary, so unless I can pull up some interesting information on C. S. Forester, that’s the only one I’ll talk about in detail here.

 

I have been recommended books by Raymond E. Feist for a long time. That Magician: Apprentice has finally made it to my shelf is a good sign that it will be read sometime, possibly soon. It is, after all, the sixth book on my 2014 reading list.

I read Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding in university. Of the books with female characters which we read in that class, I didn’t feel all that excited about it at the end. Perhaps it was because there was little in Bridget that I could personally relate to. Her problems as a woman didn’t connect with my problems as a woman (we have very different priorities) so I didn’t enjoy it as much as I did Emily of New Moon by L. M. Montgomery.

Luck in the Shadows by Lynn Flewelling is another fantasy book with LGBT themes that I want to read. If only I had clones of myself to read all the good books on my shelf. Sci-fi, you have failed me.

C. S. Forester wrote many books about navel warfare, including Mr. Midshipman Hornblower (pictured), which was made into an A&E television series. Interestingly, he also knew Roald Dahl, and encouraged him to write about his experiences in the Royal Air Force.

 

IMG_1025

Getting tired of me saying that I haven’t read these books? Which ones should I absolutely read soon and why? Let me know in the comments.

 

18 thoughts on “F is for…

  1. I can’t tell you which to read, because I’ve never read any of them either. I did see the movie on Bridget Jones’s Diary. It was just ok for me, so I have no interest in the book.

    • It has been added to my wishlist. Thank you for the recommendation! Great characters will draw me in faster than anything else in a story. *gobbles them up*

  2. Only really familiar with CS Forester, mainly because I sail. But ditto on the recommendation of Pillars of the Earth. I’ve read it twice. Thanks for all the good suggestions.

  3. I think I read Bridget Jones Diary (the first one). Hey, you might like the Nanny Diaries. Have you read that one? 🙂

  4. I saw the Bridget Jones movie, and like you, I wasn’t very impressed, mainly because I didn’t find her likeable or relatable.

    I’ve heard good things about Feist but haven’t read his work yet.

  5. Bridget Jones was a fun read for me, but her priorities were on the wrong side of rediculous. Which is why I can’t read books like that too often. Cringing is only fun the first two hundred pages.

  6. I saw the Bridget Jones movie which was funny at that time, but I don’t think the book would have been so interesting. I started to read eat, pray and love and didn’t finish. I just borrowed the film to see the end 😦

    The last book I enjoyed reading was the shadow of the wind from Carlos Ruiz Zafón.

    • I think I’ve actually seen those books before. I added it to my wishlist all the same, but I have the feeling I’ve already got them… somewhere, either in my kindle or on a different TBR list.

Leave a Reply

