E is for…

EE is for empty, emotionless, and endless:

Enchi, Fumiko
Ende, Michael
Erikson, Steven

 

For those of you following along for the whole challenge, phew, light post again today. For those who are just joining in today, this is not indicative of my whole collection, I swear. E is just a light letter for authors. How many people do you know with a last name starting with the letter E?

Onwards.

Masks by Fumiko Enchi was on my reading list last year, and came as a recommended read while I was pushing through The Tale of Genji. It does borrow themes from that ancient work, and makes several allusions to it, however, like a lot of modern Japanese writing I’ve read, this book left me kind of cold. The plot itself is interesting, but none of the characters show the sorts of emotions you’d expect from the situations they are placed in. I suppose it could be a cultural difference, but the lack of any sort of conclusion or consequence in the book left me wondering what the point was.

Michael Ende‘s The Neverending Story is fifth on my 2014 reading list. Ende wrote literature for people of all ages, and was often frustrated to be branded as a children’s author only. Many YA authors these days might share his sentiment that it is difficult writing for young people, when critics jump at the chance to attack youth genres and those who write in them. Ende believed that writing was “primarily a question of patience,” and like many new novelists, his first work also received a string of rejections before it was finally accepted.

At about the middle of last year I realized that there were far, far too many books in my genre that I hadn’t read, so I started accepting recommendations from all over the place to fill the gaps. Steven Erikson‘s Gardens of the Moon is one such book, but I have not yet had the chance to read it.

 

 

IMG_1019

There’s got to be some more E authors I could put on my shelf. Have any recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments.

27 thoughts on “E is for…

  1. This is great! Just checking in on your blog, and I’ve already gotten so many ideas for books to read that I will soon have a stack a mile high. You will definitely enjoy Shogun. Clavell also wrote Tai Pan, in his Asian series, The three or four books that followed in the Ender’s Game series were not nearly as good as the first. I am reading LIttle Dorrit, one of Dickens’ I’ve never read. Keep reading and making recommendations!

    • Thanks! I’m glad you’re enjoying it and getting new books out of it. I’ve heard that the Ender’s Game series goes down from the first one, but then, there are few series that I’ve read where this isn’t the case. I just discovered that I actually do have a bunch of Dickens on my kindle. Go me! I’ll definitely be reading them in the future. Thanks for coming by and commenting!

    • I have one author lined up for Z 😉

      I’m trying to explore new genres now. It’s helpful to hear all the different voices. I just… prefer some over others.

  2. How about Louise Erdrich, the inventive and prolific Native American writer, and author of many novels, including Love Medicine and The Bingo Palace? Also co-author of The Crown of Columbus.
    Still struggling to come up with my E entry. . .

  3. Seconding Louise Erdrich who won the National Book Award for The Round House. I loved Middlesex (which won a Pulitzer Prize for fiction) and The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides . I also enjoyed The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco. Jennifer Egan won a Pulitzer for A Visit From the Goon Squad which is on my very long to read list.

  4. I’ve seen the movie of The Neverending Story but haven’t read the book. Maybe I’ll have to add that on my to-read list. As far as authors for the letter E… that’s a tough one.

    How about Kim Edwards? I have one of her books, The Lake of Dreams, but have yet to read it. I’ve heard her other book The Memory Keeper’s Daughter is very good. Well, I guess that just means I have more reading to do. 😀

Leave a Reply

