Life, and the Complications Of

Friends, I’d like to talk to you today about a debilitating disorder that will affect 15% of the population at some point in their lives. No one is sure what triggers it and there is no cure, but sufferers report crippling pain, nausea, vomiting and in some cases even hallucinations. Those afflicted can expect to live in pain and increased sensitivity for up to three days before symptoms disappear as mysteriously as they came.

I would like to talk about migraines.

Though let’s set seriousness aside. I can’t do it with a straight face. This week has been dominated by migraines. They’re nothing new for me, but it’s been a while since I’ve had one that shook off even extra strength painkillers like a steam powered juggernaut of pounding and malice. I went to bed with a mild throbbing and woke up feeling like my brain was trying to punch its way out of my skull.

strong brainI am SO busting out of here.

Naturally, I didn’t get nearly enough written this week as I wanted to, but when a migraine hits, it knocks me flat. Any light is agony. Keeping my eyes focused? Dizzying. Moving around? God help me, I’m going to throw up. There were brief moments when medicine beat the pain back and I typed away as furiously as I could, but for the most part I stayed curled up in a dark, cold room wondering where I ought to apply a leech because OMG nothing else was helping!

In addition to migraines (or perhaps because of) I haven’t been sleeping well. The heat and the humidity are going to send our AC to an early grave and stresses –as they do– seem to be piling up.

I don’t know why I’m suddenly such a stress case, especially when it comes to interacting with other people. Maybe I was just really good at repressing it when I was younger, or maybe the six years I spent working full-time instead of maturing in college like all my friends, turned off my inter-personal relationship switch and now it’s rusted that way forever. Who knows? The level of social anxiety I feel from just Tweeting though, has to be unnatural.

* * *

I still haven’t finished reading The Woman in White though not because it’s a boring read; it’s very gripping and cleverly written. I’m enjoying it so far, and from where I am now, I feel like I’ll enjoy it much more in the chapters to come. Work has just taken up too much of my time this week. My summer school schedule needed to be completely adjusted due to too few sign-ups rendering most of the games I chose impossible to play. The seven day work week is getting tiring and honestly, when I come home even video games take more energy than I have to spare. And on the topic of summer school: yay for double shifts for the next two weeks! I’m going to need a slow-release caffeine implant, I’m sure of it. Those exist, right?

The week hasn’t been all stress pain and exhaustion, though. Some new books arrived which made me happy.

IMG_0737

Libriomancer and Prisoner were bought to branch out into the frightening world of reading different authors. GASP! We got Empires of Sand to do some read-and-compare with other desert world fantasies. Sadly, it is not a fantasy, but I like historical fiction so it won’t go to waste. I haven’t read all of Steven Brust’s books fsf july augand it makes me feel like a bad fan, so I bought The Sun, the Moon, & the Stars. Sadly, Ottoman Warfare 1500-1700 arrived too late to help me with my short (HA!) historical fiction before its deadline, but if and when I feel like beefing the story up for an actual serious submission, it’ll be good to have around. Also, yesterday we got our answer as to whether or not Alex actually signed up for a year subscription to Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine, so that will occupy my time for a little while at least. Probably not any time soon, though. There’s never enough time to read everything that I want to read!

Leave a Reply

